TITLE: Warcross

AUTHOR: Marie Lu

Rating: ★★★★

PAGES: 353

PUBLISHER: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

TARGET AUDIENCE: Young Adult

GENRE(S): Fantasy, Science Fiction

Warcross by Marie Lu Book Cover - The Contented Reader

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life.

The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down Warcross players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. To make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

Review

Warcross is the story of Emika Chen, who accidentally hacks into the opening ceremony of the world famous, Warcross championship.  Due to this, she is quickly swept away to Tokyo to work for Warcross creator, Hideo Tanaka, as a spy during the games.

This book is suspenseful, action packed and full of adventure. It’s also the fantastic start to a duology that will consistently sweep you off your feet.

Emika is a fantastic main character to this story. She is full of talent, drive and desire but sometimes struggles to make ends meet because of circumstance.  In Emika, Lu has created a relatable main character. She demonstrates that sometimes you need to have luck on your side, and for Emika, this is not always the case.

I absolutely loved the other characters in this book. One of the teams in the Warcross games, The Phoenix Riders, were such an enjoyable aspect to this book.  They were all so humourous and played an important role in the way in which Emika acted and made decisions. But along the way, they became great friends and I loved watching this slow progression.

While Hideo could sometimes be a bit annoying, in my opinion, I enjoyed watching his relationship with Emika flourish.  It was fun to have a romantic element weaved in throughout the book without it overtaking the virtual reality world.  Because, at the heart, this is a science fiction book, and it deserves to be the focus.

The world building in this book is OFF THE CHARTS! It is absolutely fantastic. I don’t think I have ever read a book before with such a vivid and descriptive world.  Lu’s background in the video game industry truly shines in this book. It leaves you wishing that Warcross was actually a game you could experience in real life, just to feel how the characters are feeling.

At its core, this book is about deciphering between reality and fantasy.  But it’s also about discovering the truth.  Which doesn’t make it surprising that there is an EPIC cliffhanger and twist at the end that will leave you wanting more!

I highly recommend picking this book up! It is full of mystery and intrigue, friendship, romance and an epic world that you’ll want to experience yourself! This is definitely perfect for fans of Marie Lu’s novels – she does not disappoint!

Every locked door has a key. Every problem has a solution.

Favourite Quote

About The Author

Marie Lu Author Photo - The Contented ReaderMarie Lu is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling series The Young Elites, as well as the blockbuster bestselling Legend series.  She graduated from the University of Southern California and jumped into the video game industry as an artist.  Now a full-time writer, she spends her spare time reading, drawing, playing games, and getting struck in traffic.  She lives in Los Angeles with her illustrator/author husband, Primo Gallanosa, and their dogs.

Buy the Book

Victoria @ The Contented Reader

Victoria @ The Contented Reader

Avid reader and tea drinker. I read and review young adult books on my blog, The Contented Reader!

9 Comments

Leave a Reply