Features

Event Recap |HCC Frenzy Fall 2018 Preview

Happy Sunday! It’s starting to get a bit cold where I live so I am soaking up all the Fall vibes. I just came home after spending four days with my Grandmother while my Grandfather was away, and I am excited to get all cozy and read some amazing books!

Last week, I shared my recap of the HCC Frenzy Presents Fall Preview that I was lucky to attend. Today, I am going to share the amazing books that were presented to us and share the books that I am particularly excited for.

For a detailed synopsis, be sure to click the book cover!

Frenzy Fall 2018 Preview

September 4th

Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani Book Cover

Oh My Goth by Gena Showalter Book Cover

Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake Book Cover

September 18th

Pride by Ibi Zoboi Book Cover

September 25th

Sex Plus by Laci Green Book Cover

The Caged Queen by Kristen Ciccarelli Book Cover

October 2nd

Damsel by Elana K. Arnold Book Cover

Broken Things by Lauren Oliver Book Cover

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee Book Cover

When We Caught Fire by Anna Godbersen Book Cover

Sawkill Girls by Claire LeGrand Book Cover

Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa Book Cover

Swing by Kwame Alexander Book Cover

October 9th

What If It's Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera Book Cover

October 16th

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi Book Cover

October 23rd

The Light Between Worlds by Laura E. Weymouth Book Cover

October 30th

This is Kind of an Epic Love Story by Kheryn Callender Book Cover

November 13th

This Splintered Silence by Kayla Olson

Four Three Two One by Courtney C. Stevens Book Cover

Pulp by Robin Talley


All of these books look amazing and I am so excited to try them out. But there are a few HCC Frenzy Fall 2018 titles that I’m particularly excited about!

My Favourites

First is Damsel by Elana K. Arnold.  Rooted in saving the ‘damsel in distress,’ this book is super intriguing to me. It’s perfect for fans of fairytales (i.e. me!) and looks like it will be an epic fantasy story. The HCC Frenzy team pitched it as perfect for fans of The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood and Elana K. Arnold’s previous book, What Girls are Made Of!

Next is Broken Things by Lauren Oliver. With my recent interest in the young adult thriller genre, I also have an interest in mysteries. I have not had the opportunity to read a Lauren Oliver novel, but this one is high on the top of my list. It reminds me so much of Pretty Little Liars and the HCC Frenzy Team said it is a twisty and addictive novel. It’s perfect for fans of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart and One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus.

What list would this be if I did not mention The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee! I feel like this is going to be a fantastic book and I will have to indulge in a re-read of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue before it’s release.

In high-school, I was a fan of The Luxe series by Anna Godbersen. It is similar to Gossip Girl but set in the 1800s. When We Caught Fire is based on the events of the Chicago Fire which is enough to count it as an auto-buy for me!

I’ve already pre-ordered my copy of What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera. Need I say more about my excitement for this meet-cute story?

Tahereh Mafi mixes her real life experiences into her newest book, A Very Large Expanse of Sea, which makes it a perfect contemporary.  It’s not often that I read young adult novels with a serious tone, but I think this is an important story to hear. The cover is also absolutely gorgeous!!

Let’s Chat in the Comments!

Which books stand out to you? Which books will you be adding to your TBR? Have you read any of these already?

Victoria @ The Contented Reader

Victoria @ The Contented Reader

Avid reader and tea drinker. I read and review young adult books on my blog, The Contented Reader!

Leave a Reply