Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

July 5, 2018Victoria @ The Contented Reader

Amy and Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson Book Cover

Publisher: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers | Pages: 344

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Travel

Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Synopsis

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Review

At the beginning of June, Morgan Matson visited a local Indigo store to promote her newest book, Save the Date. It was a great event in which she did a Q&A with fellow book blogger Tiffany, who blogs over at Mostly YA Lit. After the Q&A she did a book signing – and to top it all off, there was no limit to the amount of books she would sign! You can bet that I brought my stack of Morgan Matson books as well as books written under her pseudonym, Katie Finn.

After this event, I decided it was about time that I started to re-read her books – and they’re definitely the perfect books to kick off the start of summer.

I can’t even tell you when I read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour for the first time, but it was quite a while ago. Coming into this re-read, I really didn’t remember much and I found it was like reading the book for the first time, all over again.

First, let’s talk about the characters. I really enjoyed Amy as a protagonist. She was cautious, stubborn and guarded. But as the novel progressed, we see her come out of shell and truly enjoy what life has to offer. Throughout the novel, Amy learns to take advantage of opportunities and I thoroughly appreciated this message.

Part of this is definitely due to Roger and his ability to have her come out of her shell, and I truly enjoyed their banter with one another. Roger is an interesting character – he is social and personable while also reserved. Matson did a wonderful job at balancing these two qualities together in my opinion. And, they ultimately helped lead Amy into trusting and enjoying Roger’s company throughout the road trip.

The storyline of Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour was incredibly enjoyable. I love the fact that Matson actually took a road trip to help with the creation of this story. It helps provide realistic expectations throughout the story.

Within the novel, Matson includes pictures and graphics. These include pictures of stops or even receipts from stores and restaurants. These graphics help the reader to feel as though they are actually on the road trip with Amy and Roger. And, that they may be on the road trip with Matson herself.

The pace of this novel was enjoyable. It was the perfect pace for a story but also, the perfect road trip. I loved the characters they met in between and how both Amy and Roger’s personal storylines unraveled throughout these different locations.

Overall, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is a solid debut novel from Matson and I really enjoyed it. I found the pace of it to be one in which I wanted to consume the whole novel and never put it down. This was in fact, mostly what I did, ha!

I highly recommend this novel to anyone looking for the perfect summer read! This book is also perfect for fans of Morgan Matson’s recent novels as well as novels by Sarah Dessen!

Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Favourite Quote:

“The best discoveries always happened to the people who weren’t looking for them.”

About Morgan Matson

Morgan Matson was born in New York City and grew up there and in Greenwich, Connecticut. She attended Occidental College in Los Angeles, but halfway through a theater degree, she started working in the children’s department of Vroman’s Bookstore and fell in love with YA literature.

Following college graduation (and the proud bearer of an incredibly useful theater/English degree) she received her M.F.A. in Writing for Children from The New school and worked as an editor for YA novels. She received a second M.F.A. (for reasons that made sense at the time) in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California.

Her novels have been translated into dozens of languages, and published all over the world.

Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website

Buy the Book

Amazon CA | Amazon US | Chapters / Indigo | Book Depository

3 Comments

  • thegirlwithallthebooks

    July 5, 2018 at 8:06 pm

    I love Morgan Matson’s books but I haven’t got round to reading this one yet! I’ll have to add it to my TBR 🙂

    1. Victoria @ Rocky Reads

      July 5, 2018 at 9:03 pm

      Great, I hope you get around to it! If you like all her other books, then I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! It was a solid debut novel for her 🙂

  • Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson – The Contented Reader

    July 29, 2018 at 2:31 pm

    […] keeping with my obsession with Morgan Matson, my re-read of Second Chance Summer was just perfect. This book is one of those books that has the […]

Leave a Reply

Previous Post Next Post
%d bloggers like this: